Skip to content

March 12, 2012

INSTITUTE OF MARINE SCIENCES

by Erin Wilkinson Hartung

I am teaching a grad level Socio-Economics course at the Institute of Marine Sciences. I am also working as a marketing advisor on several small business projects both on Zanzibar and the mainland and doing micro-enterprise research.

The course covers cases and articles focusing on livelihood development and student teams will either work with existing businesses to build new markets or determine the economic viability of alternative marine-based business models. Ecotourism is flourishing, so there is opportunity here for the local communities to tap into these markets.

These are are two of my colleagues that I share an office with during the week. However I am writing this blog entry sitting in the beautiful Mercury’s restaurant noted below which is directly on the water in Stone Town on Zanzibar. Another simple thing, my office AC goes out, so I have an excuse sometimes to be outside. The view is amazing.

I was surprised to learn that the restaurant was named after Freddy Mercury from the rock band Queen – who I am told was born here. The staff gives different accounts of his association with the restaurant: island celebrity, former owner, paid for brand name and just because it sounds cool to tourists. Perhaps Freddy was an entrepreneur too. I think I’ll find Bohemian Rhapsody on my iPad.

Until next time . . .

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

